Lesson 7: Meringue Madness

 

The question becomes who first realised that if you separated egg yolks and egg whites and then beat them wildly to incorporate air miracles could happen?

 

Well we all owe them a debt of limitless gratitude!

 

Cakes, meringue, macaron, ice cream, crème anglaise and these are just the beginning!

 

Well with a few eggs today the chef produced multiple marvels and one large surprise…

 

Lesson 7: Meringue ßà Meringue

  • Dacquoise A two layer cake of soft almond meringue with praline butter cream in the centre and topped with a handmade marzipan rose
  • BasicsFrench Meringue, Swiss Meringue
  • FiguresMushrooms, Fairy Fingers, Wreaths, Meringue Shells

 

…The Production


 

…The Products



 

 

And the SURPRISE … a VACHERIN!

 



 

Vacherin is an ice cream cake surrounded by meringue batons and topped with Chantilly Cream and almonds, not to mention his little flourish of edible gold!

 


 

I have noticed though that after every lesson one cake disappears – either the other chefs have a party upstairs and enjoy the spoils or his family enjoys a great desert every night.

 

All I can say is that the ice cream based on a crème anglais was absolutely sensational! The praline butter cream had nothing to be ashamed of either!

 

PRACTICAL

 



 

I have to say the highlight of the practical for me was making the marzipan rose. It was incredible to finally get my creative juices flowing. I used to love art and sculpture at school and it was great to use my hands in the old ways once again.


I thought my rose was beautiful as it reminded me of the roses at home, the chef didn’t like it at all!

Oh well… I’ll let you decide!


 

3 responses

  1. Alison Baker

    I think your rose is beautiful; it has soul, it speaks.

    April 21, 2011 at 12:26 pm

  2. I also think your rose is gorgeous, it looks very natural!

    April 22, 2011 at 10:28 am

  3. Rina

    Can almost smell your rose from here! Beautiful! Love your blog – thanks so much for sharing your experiences with us mere mortals…..lots of love xxx Rina

    April 27, 2011 at 12:05 am

Leave a Reply

